Okay, this had nothing to do with biking, but does have to do with single parenting.

So we are probably going to either omsi or the zoo tomorrow. So naturally, I looked at membership options to see if it is worth getting a membership or just paying for one day.

I'm totally disappointed in both their membership options. Both have memberships available for singles - no kids. And then options for couples with and without kids. All assume that with kids you'll have two name adults. This feels discriminatory to me and doesn't at all take into consideration the plethora of single parent households. I don't want to pay for a named adult that I don't have. I can offer to a friend, or maybe even split one (see my other post if you're interested), but the discrimination is nagging at me. What are your thoughts?

Upset by this too? Join me in emailing them to tell them they need to create another option geared towards single parent households.

Oregon zoo: http://www.oregonzoo.org/contact-oregon-zoo-and-oregon-zoo-foundation

OMSI: [email protected]




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a 30-something single mom of 2 children. I left my husband when I was about 2 months pregnant with my second child. I was car free until I was put on bed rest, and got lazy after the baby came. I now have the kick-start I need to try the car free lifestyle once and for all! Follow me as I challenge myself for one year - if I make and succeed, I will use my insurance money to reward myself with a trip to Europe.

    Archives

    July 2013

    Categories

    All