Today we went to SE 90th and Stark to see a children's play, "Jack and the Beanstalk." It was a bit far to bike for us, so we decided to bus instead. It was about a 45 minute bus ride each way, but we didn't have to switch, which was nice. We went with some friends and the older kids (all verging on four) helped me out with the stroller. We even got to do some off roading as we wandered through the neighborhood to avoid walking along stark.

In planning the trip, I debated what stroller to take. I have a baby jogger city mini. It's great in that it is super easy to fold and fairly lightweight, but a bit bulky on the bus. A friend has a regular umbrella stroller I could borrow, but no canopy for the 85 degree day we are expecting and no basket. So I opted for the forgotten stroller in the basement that belongs to nobody. As you can see, has a canopy, a small basket, was lightweight and fairly easy to fold. I might adopt it for our bus outings!

The 45 minute bus ride was a little long for the kiddos. On the way there we ate lunch carefully. X was happy and occupied. R was tired and restless, really needing a nap, but couldn't relax enough to fall asleep. He finally passed out on the 8 block walk after we got off. Coming home, the older kids played with the hot wheels I rarely go anywhere without. R was a handful again, but we made it home at last with minimal crying... Thanks to our friend E who was happy to play pass the baby with me!

Lesson for today: "Always bring wipes/sanitizer... You never know when that thing that looks interesting, like a lumpy rock, by the bus stop just might be dried dog poo instead:/"




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a 30-something single mom of 2 children. I left my husband when I was about 2 months pregnant with my second child. I was car free until I was put on bed rest, and got lazy after the baby came. I now have the kick-start I need to try the car free lifestyle once and for all! Follow me as I challenge myself for one year - if I make and succeed, I will use my insurance money to reward myself with a trip to Europe.

    Archives

    July 2013

    Categories

    All