Picture
On Monday I got a call at work that my car had been in an accident. Everyone was okay, but the car didn't fair quite as well. A day later, my insurance company deemed it "totaled" and I have since decided to use this as an opportunity to go car free. I have 2 young boys, 14 months and nearly 4. I was car free just after I entered single life, 2 months pregnant with a toddler in tow. It lasted about 5 months, until I was put on partial bed rest and not allowed to even walk to the bus stop. That's when I broke down and bought a car. Since then, I have flirted with this idea off and on, but wasn't sure how to make the leap back to living without a car.

Now, I have a few things going for me already. I live in a community of wonderful and supportive people. My biggest hesitation has been "how do I lug 2 children and 2 car-seats to get to a rental car when I do need one?" I'm hopeful I will be able to have others help by watching my children when I go to pick it up when needed.

The other thing is, I already have a cargo bike and a regular bike with front and rear seats mounted on it. So this is my starting point. I also live in Portland, fairly close in with 2 frequently service bus stops nearby and 8 blocks to the MAX (light rail).

My Challenge: I am challenging myself to live car-free for one year. If I make it to July 1st next year, I will reward myself with a trip to Europe... likely Denmark to experience a truly bike-friendly (and community friendly) place.
I invite you to follow me, share your experiences and advice and help me as I learn how to live car free and single.





Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a 30-something single mom of 2 children. I left my husband when I was about 2 months pregnant with my second child. I was car free until I was put on bed rest, and got lazy after the baby came. I now have the kick-start I need to try the car free lifestyle once and for all! Follow me as I challenge myself for one year - if I make and succeed, I will use my insurance money to reward myself with a trip to Europe.

    Archives

    July 2013

    Categories

    All