I am finding the adjustment to life independent of a car more difficult mentally than physically. It is kind of like getting the energy up to drag yourself to the gym. You feel way better when you do it, and realize it really is no big deal, but stressing about it all day long takes way more energy than the act itself. Wednesdays are the hardest or me. I take my eldest child to school in the morning, so I have to bring my larger, bulkier, heavier bike. Yet after work, I don't have the kids, so I want to go run errands, or go hang with friends, but I don't want to tow this heavy bulky bike along with me. I enjoy riding my road bike so much more. So last week,, I was debating what to do most of the day.

First I thought, maybe I should drop X at school, rush back home and switch bikes before work. Then it would only be about 10-15 minutes added onto my day. Unfortunately, we had a little issue at drop off and it took longer than I hoped, so there wasn't time for that. Next I considered biking back home during lunch to make the switch. Then I got smart. I could run my errands during lunch (which are close to work) and then I don't need to ride as much in the evening and could just keep my bike with me. The tough days are when I want to go out with someone after work and they offer to give me a ride home. Do I leave my bike at work and figure out how to get it later? Do I try to get my bike into their car somehow? Or do I just politely decline and ride home? Hmmm.

Lisa Smith
8/4/2013 01:51:17 am

I'm glad to know it's not just me who struggles with the mental part!! If it's a day I'm going to bike or even bus, I have a little tantrum in the morning, even though I know I want to go. And having a car available these past few weeks made all my determination go out the window.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a 30-something single mom of 2 children. I left my husband when I was about 2 months pregnant with my second child. I was car free until I was put on bed rest, and got lazy after the baby came. I now have the kick-start I need to try the car free lifestyle once and for all! Follow me as I challenge myself for one year - if I make and succeed, I will use my insurance money to reward myself with a trip to Europe.

    Archives

    July 2013

    Categories

    All