In writing this it became rhythmic and sort of poetic, so I'm 'going with the flow'. I've never considered myself a poet, and this could use a lot of refinement, but let me know what you think!

My mom is in town, traveling from not far away,

Not a stranger to transit, she was up for adventure.

I gave her the option of driving (her car), taking the bus, or just walking as well.

We were going to dinner about 3 miles away.

She chose the bus.

We gathered our change and went to go wait.

I'm finding I love the pace of the bus, particularly with others, but also alone.

The night was one of relaxation and joy, not just about reaching the destination of food.

We sat on the hillside, just across the street, and talked while we waited.

The bus, we nearly missed, as we engaged in conversation.

The sound finally hit us as it quickly approached.

We boarded and traveled to our supposed destination.

We stepped into the evening sunlight as our stomachs had begun growling

The line was long and the atmosphere not what we imagined.

So we continued our journey using our feet.

We walked and we talked, laughed and then

We found a destination, up to our pallets, stomachs and mood.

We enjoyed tapas and salad over delicious mixed drinks.

Then we wondered once more to find a place for dessert.

Into a French bakery we went, sipped decaf and ate yet more little treats to fill our pallets with joy.

Our evening ready to come to a close, we stepped back outside and felt the crisp air.

We went to the stop, 18 minutes it said,

so we started to walk to keep ourselves warm.

We walked nearly a mile, bus stops every two blocks, then decided we were ready to stand and to wait.

We boarded that bus, sat down and relaxed, my mom and I returned on the bus that had brought us, to an evening of joy and good reconnection.

Not 10 minutes went by and we were suddenly there.

Returned home relaxed and enjoying ourselves,

not ever having to moved into the stress of stop lights and diverting attention to the traffic out there.

Rather we focused on each other and the joy of an evening filled with sunlight and warmth, crisp air and delight.

Thank you to the bus, for setting our pace, a slow one of ease and being present and open.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a 30-something single mom of 2 children. I left my husband when I was about 2 months pregnant with my second child. I was car free until I was put on bed rest, and got lazy after the baby came. I now have the kick-start I need to try the car free lifestyle once and for all! Follow me as I challenge myself for one year - if I make and succeed, I will use my insurance money to reward myself with a trip to Europe.

    Archives

    July 2013

    Categories

    All