I have never put much thought into that question, but Friday it became oh so very important. I was reattaching the trail-a-bike to my bike at school and dropped the but that holds the metal bar in which keeps the trail-a-bike hooked in. It is all so important as it really can't be ridden without it. We searched around where I dropped it for about 15 minutes with no luck. Thankfully, the last family was just leaving school and offered to give us a ride home. The little sister was out sick that day, otherwise there wouldn't have been a carseat to use in their car. I was so thankful for that ride.

So then we aquired a new but thanks to our neighbor who no longer uses her trail-a-bike and Saturday made the track back to school to retrieve our bikes. I didn't feel like imposing on any of my wonderful neighbors that day, so both kids and I boarded the bus. I has R strapped to my chest, with a backpack of just in case essentials on my back, and carried his front bobike seat with 3 helmets strapped into it. X walked next to me. We caught the bus and then walked the 3/4 mile or so to he school from there. Maybe it's just 1/2 mile, but it's a good walk for a 4-yr-old and for me lugging all that with me too. By the time we made it to the school, I was ready for a break. We searched around for said but one more time, just in case, but to no avail. The kids played in the yard while I set up the bike with the new nut and of course added the front seat too. We boarded our bike and headed home. By the time we got home, we were spent and hungry.

The last two days I've been very careful with the hardware while attaching and reattaching that thing.

And of course, Monday we delivered some homemade canned peaches to the family that so graciously helped us out Friday.

All and all, it was one and I'm so thankful to have great friends that are always there in a pinch:-)




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a 30-something single mom of 2 children. I left my husband when I was about 2 months pregnant with my second child. I was car free until I was put on bed rest, and got lazy after the baby came. I now have the kick-start I need to try the car free lifestyle once and for all! Follow me as I challenge myself for one year - if I make and succeed, I will use my insurance money to reward myself with a trip to Europe.

    Archives

    July 2013

    Categories

    All