Today was a beautiful summer Portland day. I take my eldest to school in the morning, then bike to work, and do the same on the return most days. I figure it is about 5 miles each way every day. Today I did the same. Yet on top of it, I had two meetings to get to. I work on the east side, not far from downtown. If I'd had a car, I probably would have hopped in it, but since I didn't, I decided to walk to my first meeting. It was only about a 15 minute walk at most and the morning air was nice and crisp. I returned to the office the same way, enjoying my time in the sun. I then decided to take the things I needed to review for my next meeting with me to get some food. Since I was biking and not driving, it was easy to stop at one of my favorite downtown lunch spots and sit in the sun for awhile. Then I hopped back on and rode to my next meeting in NW. I'd forgotten a water bottle as my commute is pretty short, but they offered me some water to rehydrate. We finished up a little after four. Since I usually leave the office at 4:30 and didn't really have a break all day, I decided to head straight to my sons school to pick him up. He was ready to hop on the bike and get home to get his own bike.

He just learned to ride a pedal bike a few weeks ago. He biked to dinner on his own tonight as I walked alongside carrying the baby in the wrap. I took this photo of him looking so happy and having a blast! I love that he enjoys riding as much as I do, and can't seem to get enough of it!

7/9/2013 02:56:35 am

A much needed journal for todays world. Reading your process is so helpful especially for those of us who are too timid to let go of our cars. So thank you, Kristin!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a 30-something single mom of 2 children. I left my husband when I was about 2 months pregnant with my second child. I was car free until I was put on bed rest, and got lazy after the baby came. I now have the kick-start I need to try the car free lifestyle once and for all! Follow me as I challenge myself for one year - if I make and succeed, I will use my insurance money to reward myself with a trip to Europe.

    Archives

    July 2013

    Categories

    All